Digital literacies vs Digital skills

I believe that there is a huge difference between digital literacies and digital skills. Digital literacies is more inclusive and focuses on a lot of aspects unlike the digital skill that only focuses on what you can do and how you can do it ex( how to download an image and drag it in to your PowerPoint). On the other hand digital literacies focuses on why you do the action, when you do it and with or for whom, while using our own personal judgment and understanding the reasons while doing this ex (you learn how to cite, Choose the right image ect). In a nutshell skills is the icing and cherry on top while literacies include the ingredients themselves and what it took for you to make the cake. Literacies teach us gradually and steadily rather than sequentially. In literacies you get do everything required in between to move from point A all the way to Z while in digital skills you are taught how to move from point A to Z automatically without knowing the process in between. you also get to understand the reason behind the task you are doing and how to think critically. There are 8 elements of digital literacies that must exist so that we can say digital literacies was actually applied or a positive action has occurred out of it, they are cultural, constructive, communicative, creative, critical, and civic knowledge and confidence of using a certain technology.Digital literacies is more than what you learn or memorize in class it is about using the skills you learned in your daily life and applying it in your digital lives. Digital skills teach you something for current use to solve an immediate situation but digital literacies teach you the core of things that you will be later using or depending on throughout your life. Therefore I conducted a test that evaluates my technological skills for me to improve my digital literacies through the different pathways I was given

According to my digital profile Iam comfortable with finding and using information, creating and innovating ideas, and communicating and collaborating while I am competent or need more improvement in technology and learning, tools and technology, and having confidence in my technological skills. So basically anything that has do with communication and innovation I am comfortable with while anything that has to do with technology and knowing certain tools and how to protect myself form their danger i am just weak or competent at.

I have some goals regarding my technological skills that I would like to enhance. I want to have extensive knowledge about all the tools I am using now in class , how to protect myself from this dangerous digital world, how to use podcasts, and how to improve my skills in photoshop and indesign because I’ll depend heavily on them in my work. Moreover how to edit videos and feel comfortable doing this. Therefore I decided choose three pathways that the doctor created as they will help me nourish my technological skills and knowledge ex( tinkering, taught, and theory paths ).

https://literacyworldwide.org/blog/literacy-now/2016/02/03/knowing-the-difference-between-digital-skills-and-digital-literacies-and-teaching-both

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started